The minimum wage increase will take effect from July 1, 2022

Many states and cities are raising minimum wage rates in the second half of 2022. Florida growth Set to take place on September 30, most of these changes are effective July 1. The rate hike will affect non-free employees and tipped employees.

Minimum wage change on July 1, 2022

Check out the list below to see if the minimum wage is rising in your area, and visit your state’s labor law guidelines to learn more about your local compliance laws. You may also see changes to the minimum wage earlier this year In our article.

California

On January 1, 2022, California raised the statewide minimum wage rate to $ 14 for small employers with 25 or fewer employees and $ 15 for large employers. However, many jurisdictions are taking it one step further from July 1:

  • Alameda: $ 15.75
  • Berkeley: 16.99
  • Emeryville: 17.68
  • Fremont: $ 16.00
  • Foster City: 15.75
  • Long Beach (hotel with 100 or more guest rooms): $ 16.73
  • Los Angeles City: 16.04
  • Los Angeles City (hotel with 150 or more guest rooms): 18.17
  • Unorganized Los Angeles County: $ 15.96
  • Malibu: $ 15.96
  • Milpitas: 16.40
  • Pasadena: $ 16.11
  • San Francisco: 16.99
  • Santa Monica: 15.96
  • Santa Monica (Hotel): $ 18.17
  • West Hollywood (1-49 employees): 16.00
  • West Hollywood (50 or more employees): 16.50
  • West Hollywood (hotel staff): $ 18.35

Note: California does not allow for a reduction in the minimum wage for tipped employees.

Connecticut

The statewide minimum wage rate in Connecticut will increase to $ 14.00. The rate will be $ 6.38 per hour for tipped service workers and $ 8.23 ​​for tipped bartenders.

District of Columbia

The district-wide minimum wage will be $ 16.10 per hour for workers and $ 5.35 for tipped workers.

Illinois

Two jurisdictions in Illinois will raise the minimum wage:

  • Chicago (business with 21 or more employees): $ 15.40 per hour for employees, $ 8.70 for tipped employees
  • Chicago (business with 4-20 employees): $ 14.50 per hour for employees, $ 9.24 for tipped employees
  • Cook County: .3 13.35 per hour for employees, $ 7.40 per tip for employees

Montgomery County, Maryland

Montgomery County is raising the following minimum wages:

  • Business with 51 or more employees: 15.65
  • Business with 11 to 50 employees: $ 14.50
  • Business with 10 or fewer employees: 14.00

The tipped minimum wage rate will be at $ 4.00.

Minnesota

Minnesota jurisdictions are raising several minimum wage rates:

  • Minneapolis (business with 100 or more employees): 15.00
  • Minneapolis (Business with less than 100 employees): 13.50
  • St. Paul (business with 10,000 or more employees): 15.00
  • St. Paul (business with 101 to 10,000 employees): 13.50
  • St. Paul (business with 6-100 employees): $ 12.00
  • St. Paul’s (1-5 employee business): $ 10.75

In Minnesota, a reduced minimum wage is not allowed for tip workers

Nevada

Nevada is raising its statewide minimum wage rate of $ 9.50 for businesses that offer health insurance benefits and $ 10.50 for those that do not. A reduced minimum wage rate is not allowed for employees tipped in Nevada.

Oregon

The Oregon statewide minimum wage rate will increase by 13.50. Portland will implement the following changes:

  • Metro Business (located within the urban growth limits of a metropolitan service district): 14.75
  • Business in a non-urban county: $ 12.50

A reduced minimum wage for tipped workers is not allowed in Oregon

Have more consent questions? Homebase has an expert team ready to help with your most difficult concerns. Including HR Pro You can talk live with a certified advisor, review your policy with an expert, and access our extensive HR resource library full of templates, guides and training.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.